Doors


I’m in a room full of doors. The room is circular, and all around me are doors. Everyone of them are the same; except one. The one door that differs from the others is shut. Every other door is open, and I hesitate. Every open door leads to a destination that I’ve already visited. The closed door though, is one that looks familiar, but I’ve never been able to actually step through it.  This one door, is made of mohagony wood, and looks brand new.  Unlike the other doors, this one stands out.  Every similar door is molding, rotten, and looks rough. I can’t seem to understand why, during my whole life, I’ve walked through the rotten doors, but haven’t been able to do the same with the mohagony door.  Every time I’ve gone through the molding doors, they all seem to lead right back to the same place; this room.  I mean, that’s how I got here anyways, by taking one of the rotten doors.  So here I am, a room full of doors.  This time I walk up to the mohagony wood, and turn the door handle.  It’s locked, and won’t budge.  I step back towards the center of the room, and right as I am about to choose one of the open doors, I get an idea.  I make my way to the mohagony door, and knock three times.  Firm knocks, I don’t want them to be unheard.  The door opens promptly, and standing there is a man.

“Are you ready now?”  He asks.

“Ready?”  I ask, as if I don’t know what He is talking about.

“Are you ready to start the journey?”

“Yes,” I answer, “yes I would love to take on this journey with you.”

He backs up to let me in.  “Then come on in, there is much for me to show you!”

 

One comment on “Doors

  1. Make.Life.Orange says:

    I really enjoyed this post. Great creative writing!

Leave a Reply

