I am not a hero!


I am plain.  There is nothing interesting about me.  I am a real human being.  In the wake of my every footstep, my footprint is left.  There are no gold drops, no glitter, and as for glamour…none.  The experiences I have been through in my life are more than others, but it does not even compare to the life of a baby boy born into poverty in Northern Uganda.  I have nothing worthwhile to say, let alone think.  There really is nothing.  Everyday I wake up, and every night I go to sleep. Same thing, over and over. There are no original ideas generated in my mind.  I am no one.  I do not have war stories, and I have never saved another human being.  I am not a hero!

But God, knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I am created intricately, so that every second, my heart beats.  Without thinking, my body knows that I need to breathe.  Breathe?  Is that all I do?  God created me to be here right now.  And there is a purpose for that.  He did not want me to be anywhere else.  He did not want me to have war stories, and I have never saved another human being.  But God saved me.  He made me with a mind to think.  He made with a heart to love.  I may not show love in every situation, but even so, I was created for a purpose.  I may feel plain, but I am nowhere near plain.  No one else in the whole world possesses what I have…my life.  I was not born into poverty; maybe my purpose is to end it.  I was born in the land of opportunity.  Maybe I need to give opportunity to those who do not have.  My life is not plain.  No one’s life is plain.  Everyone was born for a purpose.  But my question is this, whose purpose are you fulfilling?

-dedicated to R.M.

Zachary

2 comments on “I am not a hero!

  1. sharonpinkston says:

    Really, really good Zach. Really makes me think as most of your blogs do. Did you write this specifically for someone or just in general? Keep writing, I always look forward to reading them.

Leave a Reply

