Opportunity


Look at your watch, and take a deep breath.  Hold it for as long as you can, and then exhale.  How many minutes passed?  According to the Population Reference Bureau, 108 people die every minute.  Think about that for a second.  No, keep thinking about it!

An infant may have died in that minute.  Maybe it was an old woman, who had lived her life to the fullest.  But what if, in one minute, a mother and her child die because they weren’t able to find enough food to feed themselves.  The Population Reference Bureau also gives wealth statistics.  It said that 48% of the world population live on less than U.S. $2 a day.  Last time I checked, Taco Bell sold one taco for $1.19, and that isn’t including taxes.

When I think about it at a personal level, I feel extremely grateful that I was given the chance to live.  I grew up with opportunity.  Do you know what that opportunity was?  It was life.  Thinking about it makes me want to do something to help others.  Whether that is standing up for those who are dying of hunger, or those who are dying of unclean water.  It doesn’t matter.  I just want to do something.  I feel like while I am at university, my life is standing still, and that my ability to do something to change the world is non-existent.  But I do know this: when I leave this place, I will find a way to make a difference.  I don’t want to waste the minutes that I have been given.

There’s a viral video going through out the world right now about Joseph Kony.  Joseph Kony is the leader of the Lord’s Resistance Army, who have been abducting children in Uganda and The Democratic Republic of Congo.  He uses these children as child soldiers to further his own cause.  He uses the boys as soldiers, and hardens them by forcing them to kill, and the girls he abducts, he uses as sex slaves for his soldiers.  Invisible Children is the non profit organization that released this video.  Invisible children was started in 2003 by three college age guys who decided they weren’t going to waste their life.  They decided to make a difference, and change the lives of those who never had opportunity.

We are not immortal.  We all will die.  But there are those who die without the opportunity to actually live.  What we need to do, not as a country, but as people, is to genuinely care about people.  Voice your opinion, and force the leaders of the world to notice those who cannot voice their own suffering.

This post took 32 minutes to write and edit.  During the making of this post, 3456 people died.  It could have been you that died in the last 32 minutes, but if you are still alive, don’t waste your life.

-Zachary

4 comments on “Opportunity

  1. Julia Kovach says:

    Zach, very well written! Parts of it gave me a chill down my spine…it touched me so. I love your heart, my friend! Don’t worry about wasting your time at university, you are fueling up! You will be one of those that changes the world! Maybe one word….or one thought…. at a time! Well done! xo

  2. ppetroline says:

    You have already made a difference, Zachary!
    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

