Mercy and Grace Abide


Thunder and lightning in His presence,

But still mercy and grace abide,

It’s like I was running within the shadows,

And He’s the only one with the light,

He is the light, and I was wandering,

For lack of better terms I was blind,

I saw my caricature of innocence,

But guilt had distorted it’s white,

I tried to walk the road straight,

But always ended up following a lie,

Sailing with the weeping winds,

Indulging in the nature of mankind,

I knew I was made for a mission,

And sin was not what God had designed,

I was given mercy and grace,

And such forgiveness cannot be declined,

For Jesus Christ paid my price,

And in my place He died,

A sacrifice that defeated all death,

So in Jesus Christ I confide,

No matter a storm of hell or claim of man,

Will ever push my heart to slide,

For it is in Jesus Christ,

That my heart and soul reside.

                                  -Zachary Pinkston

2 comments on “Mercy and Grace Abide

  1. sharonpinkston says:

    Very good Zach. I read it over and over to get all the meaning in it. You could rap this poem and it would be great too!!

  2. ppetroline says:

    Well done… Amen!

Leave a Reply

